Our Faculty & Community

The growth of our school has been a joint effort on the part of the leaders, faculty members and parents who have made The York School what it is today.

Beginning with Barbara Goodwin-Zeibots in 1965, to the engaged and energetic Leadership Team, The York School has always been guided by visionary educators who surround themselves with insightful and passionate administrators. Our Executive Leadership team carries on the legacy of best practices and continual progress. 


Our faculty is a diverse and talented group with extensive international experience. The faculty culture is collegial and courses with ideas that drive professional growth through both in-house and out-of-school experiences. Involved in all aspects of school life and qualified extensively with professional certifications and graduate degrees, our teachers strike a perfect balance between challenging our students to excel and providing them with individual support. 


Our parents are a varied and interesting group whose dedication to the school has always been a driving force. Our continued growth has been possible because of the time, expertise and financial resources that our parents have poured into the school over the years. Our parents are a critical element that makes The York School the leading educational environment it has become. 

Learn more about our community here. 

Who can we connect you to?

Call us at 416-926-1325 and we will make sure you are connected to the right person at The York School.

Faculty and Staff Directory


List of 13 members.

  • Mr. Struan Robertson 

    Interim Head of School
  • Ms. Janet MacMillan 

    Chief Financial Officer
  • Mr. Praveen Muruganandan 

    Director of Admission and Advancement
  • Ms. Marilyn Melnick 

    Director of Human Resources
  • Ms. Helen Gin 

    Middle School Principal
  • Mr. David Hamilton 

    Principal, Senior School
  • Ms. Valerie Turner 

    Principal of Junior School
  • Ms. Elissa Kline-Beber 

    Director of Student Wellness
  • Ms. Sarah Charley 

    Director of Citizenship
  • Mr. Rick DeMarinis 

    Director of Athletics
  • Mr. David Hanna 

    Director of University Counselling
  • Mr. Justin Medved 

    Director of Learning, Innovation & Technology
  • Ms. Kimberley Benoit 

    Executive Assistant to the Head of School

Contact Us

Junior School
(Grades JK-5) 1639 Yonge Street Toronto, Ontario M4T 2W6 

Middle School (Grades 6-8) & Senior School (Grades 9-12) 1320 Yonge Street Toronto, Ontario M4T 1X2
: 416.926.1325

Mailing address: 1320 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario  M4T 1X2

Junior School: 1639attendance@yorkschool.com
Middle & Senior School: 1320attendance@yorkschool.com